Handball: Gerard Jones Tournament Report - A great success again!

posted 28 Feb 2013, 07:17 by Unknown user

Gerard Jones Memorial – Castleconnor 2013

Ballymote’s Francis McCann and Colooney’s Stanley Harte went all the way and secured The Gerard Jones Memorial Cup in Castleconnor on Sunday 20th January last. The event is held in the honour of Gerard Jones who was tragically killed in a farming accident in 1990. This year’s tournament had 12 doubles teams with players from Leitrim, Mayo & Sligo taking part.

Michael Ginley from the nearby Bofield Club and Micheal Jones from Castleconnor won the Plate Final against Mark Murphy and Larry Jones, both from the Castleconnor Club. Micheal Jones and Michael Ginley, who had to stand in for Jason Earlis who got an injury half way through the tournament, powered their way to win on a score line of 31 points to 21. There was a standing ovation for Jason Earlis as he stepped up to receive the Plate Winner‘s Trophy. Earlis was playing his best Handball until an injury reoccurrence came back to haunt him in the Plate Semi-Final.

In the Cup Final it was Francis McCann and Stanley Harte who were victorious over Michael Browne and Tom Foody, both from the Castleconnor Club. McCann was a master in the court with Stanley Harte returning everything that was thrown at him. Browne and Foody had some tough games coming into the final but fought bravely to finish on a score line of 31 points to 15.

Damian Jones presented the Finalists with their crystal while Seamus Jones presented Francis McCann and Stanley Harte the Gerard Jones Memorial Cup.

It was a proud day for the Castleconnor Handball Club as this was the first year they held the tournament since installing a new glass back wall and viewing area extension. The Club deserves great credit for all the hard work and effort in organising the tournament.

Competitors and Jones family

Seamus Jones presents Francis McCann and Stanley Harte the Gerard Jones Memorial Cup

Runners-up Tom Foody and Michael Browne with Damian Jones

Plate Winners: Michael Jones and Jason Earlis with Brendan Jones

Plate Finalists Mark Murphy and Larry Jones with Brendan Jones