Minor A Championship: Castleconnor 1-10 v 7-8 Easkey

posted 30 Jul 2014, 01:21 by castleconnor sligo
The minor team hosted Easkey last thursday in the second round of the championship. Missing Cian Barrins, Lewis Beardshall and Odhrán Quinn, management decided to try out a new tactic with Sean Carrabine dropping back as a sweeper and Paul Flynn covering midfield. It had mixed results from the start, as Easkey were attacking in waves but the attacks were breaking down. However they managed to get a few crucial scores.  After a number of poor misses for Castleconnor, Matthew Cullen opened the account with a point. Stephen Durkan addded another point but two soft goals in quick succession gave Easkey a comfortable lead. More Easkey attacks were stopped by the constantly working backs, Namely Keith  and Benny Foody and James Boland. The home team were attacking more now but poor shooting and passing was letting them down with only one more point coming from Matthew Cullen before half time. Score 2-3 to 0-3.
The second half saw Easkey start with another goal and a point before Matthew Cullen scored a point. Sean Carrabine moved back to the half forward line and instantly scored two points. The comeback was stopped by another goal for Easkey. Then Jack O'Hora ran through for Castleconnor's only goal but Easkey scored another goal to cancel it out. Easkey found another gear and scored another 2-4. Four points from Matthew Cullen between Easkey's scores failed to inspire a late comeback. It finished 7-8 to 1-10.
Team: Kenneth Flynn, Conor Gallagher, Enda Kilcullen, James Boland, Keith Foody, Benny Foody, Jason Earlis (captain), Sean Carrabine (0-2), Paul Flynn, Jack O'Hora (1-0), Michéal Cahill, Matthew Cullen (0-6), Stephen Durkan (0-1), Danny O'Hora