U14B Shield Final:Castleconnor 8-11 v Ballymote 5-9

posted 27 Jul 2012, 15:34 by Unknown user   [ updated 29 Jul 2012, 14:34 ]
The final took place in Tourlestrane on Wednesday evening in front of a large attendance. When the two teams met in the league our opponents defeated us quite comprehensively. 

This night things would be different. We stormed into a 2-5 v 0-2 lead early on with new full forward Ronan Murphy beginning to cause havoc. Ballymote fought back and then went in front. A strong end to the half by our team meant we lead at half time with some excellent free taking from the ground by Sean Carrabine and great play from Paul Flynn and Benny Foody.

Luke Munnelly and Murphy continued to cause havoc when we were on the attack and with our defenders Danny O'Hora, Niall Judge, James Boland and Ronan Coggins tightening up and Kenneth Flynn pulling off some great saves meant we were in the ascendency coming towards the end. Micheal Cahill, Elliot Beardshall, Odhran Quinn supplying the bombs to Murphy who ended up with 7 goals and 4 points to his credit at the end when we were crowned champions and in the process managed to retain our title.

At the end of the game there was great celebrations and John Niland presented Seán Carrabine the cup there was great scenes of joy. 

Congrats to the squad, management Frank Barrett and Brian Howley.

Team: Kenneth Flynn, Niall Judge, James Boland, Ronan Coggins, Benny Foody, Danny O'Hora, Sean Carrabine, Paul Flynn, Odhran Quinn, Luke Munnelly, Michael Cahill, Elliot Beardshall, Ronan Murphy. Subs: Oisin Flynn, Dáire Barrins, Brian Mahoney, Fergal Boland, Brian Durkan, James Tully, Colm Naughton